Katherine Mercado

About Me

Hello all and welcome to my about me blog. A little bit about myself for anyone that did not see my animoto. I live in NYC currently a resident of Queens. I live about 25 minutes from downtown Manhattan and a hop skip and jump from citi-field.¬† I am 26 years old, a recent graduate of the Suny Orange dental hygiene program. I lucked out right out of school and landed a a great job in Yonkers working full time in a very cozy office with myself, my assistant, and of course my doctor. I come from a very large family of 8 boys and 4 girls, I forget everyone’s birthday but equally love all of my siblings. I grew up in the Bronx, NY and moved to upstate NY later in high school and stayed throughout my college years. I did my first undergrad at a few different colleges. I started out at Dutchess Community College, than transferred to Marist University where I obtained a bachelors degree in Business administration and management. While I was in school I worked part time for a dental office as a receptionist and loved my job and the environment. When I graduated from school I began working for a real-estate company on the management end and hated going to work everyday. So, I left my full time well paying job and went back to school for dental hygiene. I knew dentistry was my passion and something I was good at. I never hated going to work when I worked in the dental office those four years. Two years of hygiene school and here I am in school again working on obtaining a Master’s degree in dental hygiene to further my career as a dental hygienist. In hygiene school I was always the person to take the subject and break it down to “English” terms for my fellow classmates I have been a tutor in the past for certain subjects and think¬† I may have a hand in education. I am not sure exactly if education is the path i will take but it is an option. I may combine my business degree with my hygiene and pursue a career in the dental marketing and management field. Either way I decide to go I know I will be passionate about the work I do. I work about 50 hours a week, and go to school full time online. My schedule is crazy but as a young woman still find time to enjoy life. I travel to different countries as much as I can, and I hate the cold. I have lived in New York my entire life, but maybe in the next few years I will trade it in for palm trees in Miami. I have a puppy named Minnie and another one named Mickey.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar